TICC 2020 announces the Academy Quartets

Publisert: 6/17/2020

Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition and Academy (22-27 September) proudly announces the 2020 Academy participants! The four string quartets are: Clova Quartet (BO/ES/GB), Fenris Quartet (FR), NOVO Quartet (PL/DK) and Salomé Quartet (KR/PT/PL/JP).

About the ensembles:

Clova Quartet

Formed at the Royal Academy of Music in 2019, the Clova Quartet is an exciting young and innovative string quartet based in London. Shortly after forming, the quartet made their debut at the Kinnordy Chamber Music Festival and are continuing to quickly build their repertoire. Following competitive auditions in October 2019, they were selected for the Frost ASSET Scheme 2019-2020 (Royal Academy of Music) and were assigned Levon Chilingirian (Chilingirian Quartet) as their personal mentor. Gabriel Bilbao (violin), Rodrigo Checa (violin), Edgar Francis (viola) and Hugh Mackay (cello). 

Fenris Quartet

Fenris Quartet

Founded in 2012 at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Lyon, France. The quartet is formed in the classes of Agnès Sulem (Rosamonde Quartet) and Yovan Markovitch (Ysaÿe Quartet, Danel Quartet). During the 2015/16 season, the quartet also studied at the Conservatoire de Paris with Luc-Marie Aguera (Ysaÿe Quartet). Pierre Alvarez (violin), Camille Labroue(violin), Loïc Abdelfettah (viola) and Florian Laforge (cello).

Fenris Quartet 

NOVO Quartet

A Danish-Polish quartet formed in September 2018. All the members are students at the Royal Danish Academy of Music, studying as a chamber music group under Professor Tim Frederiksen – the teacher and mentor behind Danish String Quartet. In May 2019 they won the Køge Chamber Music Competition 2019 and Scholarship Competition at The Royal Danish Academy of Music. Most recently, they were awarded the Grand Prize Winner in ENKOR International Chamber Music Competition 2020.

Kaya Kato Møller (violin), Nikolai Vasili Nedergaard (violin), Daniel Sledzinski (viola) and Signe Ebstrup Bitsch (cello).

 NOVO Quartet

Salomé Quartet

A multinational ensemble formed in 2016 by four prizewinning students of the Royal College of Music in London. In 2017 the quartet won the RCM String Quartet Competition, Helen Just & Susan Cornell Prize, Sacconi Quartet Prize, and was invited as Quartet in Residence at the Oundle School. The Salomé Quartet is one of the three finalists of the St. Martin in the Fields Chamber Music Competition 2020. Haim Choi (violin), Ines Delgado (violin), Kasia Ziminska (viola) and Shizuku Tatsuno (cello).

Salomé Quartet


Maxwell Quartet and Trio Opal are among the former Academy ensembles who’s also participated in the competition, just to name a few of the former TICC prize winners.

That was a big international competition which helped to launch our career. From that we got our American agents and a lot of things have come from that.

               Elliott Perks, Maxwell Quartet about TICC to the Chicago Tribune Feb 26 2020.


TICC Academy 2020 instructor’s team:

Vertavo String Quartet, Quatuor Van Kuijk Quartet, violist Jennifer Stumm and pianist Saksia Giorgini.