Publisert: 1/25/2019

TICC jury 2019:

Jury leader Lambert Orkis (USA), Sharon Bezaly (ISR), Thomas Hoppe (DE), François Kieffer (FR), Sølve Sigerland (NO), Tanja Tetzlaff (DE) and Marianne Thorsen (NO).



Lambert Orkis, jury leader

Lambert Orkis has received international recognition as chamber musician, interpreter of contemporary music, and performer on period instruments.  He has appeared worldwide with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter since 1988 and performed in recital with cellist Mstislav Rostropovich for more than eleven years. A multi-Grammy Award nominee, his wide discography comprises works of the classical, romantic, and modern eras on many labels.  With Anne-Sophie Mutter, he has frequently recorded for Deutsche Grammophon, winning a Grammy Award for “Best Chamber Music Performance” for the Beethoven piano and violin sonatas, and a 2006 “Choc de l’année” award from the French magazine Le Monde de la Musique for the Mozart piano and violin sonatas audio recording.  Audio as well as video discs of Brahms’ sonatas for piano and violin by these musicians will be released in 2010.  He has also recorded works of Brahms, Schumann, and Chopin/Franchomme with Dutch cellist Anner Bylsma.  With violist Steven Dann, he appears on an ATMA Classique disc of works by Brahms, and has released discs on Bridge Records of solo works written for him by George Crumb, Richard Wernick, and James Primosch. In acknowledgment of his accomplishments, he was recently honored with Germany’s Cross of the Order of Merit.

Sharon Bezaly

Described by The Times (UK) as ‘God’s gift to the flute’, Sharon Bezaly is hailed as a flautist ‘virtually without peer in the world today’ She has inspired renowned composers as diverse as Sofia Gubaidulina and Kalevi Aho to write for her, and has to date twenty dedicated concertos which she performs worldwide.

Collaborating with the major orchestras of the word, she has performed with many esteemed conductors including Osmo Vänskä, Neeme Järvi, Zubin Mehta, Alan Gilbert, Lan Shui, Martyn Brabbins, and John Neschling. In chamber music she collaborates with musicians like Gidon Kremer, Vladimir Ashkenazy, and Ronald Brautigam and has performed at the Wigmore Hall, Concertgebouw, Sydney Opera House and at the BBC Proms. Sharon Bezaly has always had a great interest in contemporary music and is now the world’s living flautist with the greatest amount of concertos and chamber music inspired by and dedicated to her from more than two dozen composers. Sharon’s collaboration with her record label, BIS, has produced dozens of exciting recordings. They have won her the highest accolades, including the Diapason d’Or (Diapason), Choc (Monde de la Musique), Editor’s Choice (Gramophone) and Stern des Monats (Fono Forum). She plays on a 24-carat gold flute, specially made for her by the Muramatsu team, is a top prize winning graduate of the Conservatoire de Paris, a BBC New Generation Artist (2006/08), and the first wind player to be Artist in Residence for the Residentie Orkest (2007/08).

Thomas Hoppe

 Thomas Hoppe has developed a strong reputation as an exceptional collaborative pianist. He performs frequently with instrumentalists and singers in the U.S. and in Europe and has concertized with such eminent artists as Itzhak Perlman, Joshua Bell, Antje Weithaas, Mihaela Martin, Stefan Milenkovich, Jens Peter Maintz, Alban Gerhardt, Tabe Zimmermann and Frans Helmerson, to name but a few. He also works for many young artists such as Feng Ning, Ben Beilman, Suyoen Kim, Jinjoo Cho, and Sergey Malov.
As pianist of the ATOS Trio he performs throughout the world to highest acclaim. Recipients of the 3rd Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Award in 2007 and members of the BBC3 New Generation Artists 2009, the ATOS Trio was awarded a Borletto-Buitoni Prize 2012 in recognition of their artistic excellence. The ATOS Trio was a guest at prestigious festivals such as Enescu Bucharest, City of London, Rheingau or Schwetzingen and has worked with conductors such as Andrew Manze or Jac van Steen.

François Kieffer

After studying with Philippe Muller at the Paris Conservatory, François Kieffer and three friends founded Quatuor Modigliani in 2003. The Quartet participated in international competitions and won first prizes in Eindhoven (2004), Vittorio Rimbotti (2005) and the prestigious Young Concert Artists Auditions in New York (2006). This helped to lift the quartet up on the international stage, playing concerts from Europe to the United States, Japan and Australia. Kieffer has held master classes and has been a driving force in supporting young musicians – also beyond the music. Quatuor Modigliani has been artistic director of Rencontres Musicales d'Evian since 2014.

Sølve Sigerland

Sølve Sigerland studied at the Norwegian Academy of Music and the Ferenc Liszt Academy in Budapest, as well as seeking out the expertise of other violinists such as Ana Chumachenco in Switzerland and Lorand Fenvyes in Canada. Sigerland has devoted most of his career to chamber music, although he has appeared as a soloist with leading orchestras of the Nordic countries under conductors including Andrew Litton, Daniel Harding and Leif Segerstam. In recent years his performances of Mozart's violin concertos nos. 3 and 5 under the leadership of Walter Weller have displayed his soloist qualities to the full. As a member of Grieg Trio, Sølve Sigerland has enjoyed success all over the world. His recording of Grieg's string quartet with, among others, cellist Truls Mørk, was awarded French record industry's highest accolade, the Diapason d'Or.

Tanja Tetzlaff

Tanja Tetzlaff performs an extensive repertoire, including the staple solo and chamber music literature, and important compositions of the 20th and 21th centuries. A recording of cello concertos by Wolfgang Rihm and Ernst Toch was released by NEOS. Tanja has played with leading orchestras. Chamber music plays a significant part in Tanja’s career, with regular appearances alongside Lars Vogt, Leif Ove Andsnes, Alexander Lonquich, Antje Weithaas, Florian Donderer, Baiba and Lauma Skride, and her brother, Christian Tetzlaff, including at the festivals in Heidelberg, Heimbach, Bergen and Edinburgh. In 1994 Tanja founded the Tetzlaff Quartett, with Christian Tetzlaff, Elisabeth Kufferath and Hanna Weinmeister. This season the quartet goes on tour throughout the US with concerts in San Francisco, Cleveland, Cincinnati, New York and Atlanta. Furthermore the four musicians will be performing at the Schwetzinger SWR Festspiele, KunstFestSpiele Hannover as well as in Hamburg, Cologne and London.

Marianne Thorsen

Marianne Thorsen has established herself as one of Norway's leading violinists. Marianne enjoys a regular collaboration with the Trondheim Soloists with which she recorded Mozart's Violin Concertos Nos 3, 4 and 5 for 2L to great critical acclaim, winning the Norwegian Spellemann Prize. Her recording with the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra of Ståle Kleiberg's Violin Concerto, dedicated to her, received an American Grammy nomination in 2010. A keen chamber musician, Marianne Thorsen has performed with such eminent artists as Leif Ove Andsnes, Marc-André Hamelin, Truls Mørk, Paul Lewis, Pascal Rogé, Lars Anders Tomter and Håvard Gimse at Norwegian festivals including Oslo, Bergen, Trondheim and Stavanger; and at the BBC Proms in London and at the Edinburgh, Bath and Cheltenham Festivals in the UK (live broadcasts for BBC Radio 3). Marianne Thorsen was leader of the internationally renowned Nash Ensemble of London from 2000-2015 and a founder member of the Leopold String Trio from 1991-2006 with extensive tours throughout Europe, Australia and the USA and numerous recordings for Hyperion Records in London.

Read more about previous juries, instructors and project managers here.