Competition 2017 FESTIVAL

9th Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition

The 9th Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition is held 26- 30 September 2017. Ten string quartets from all around the world will compete for prizes and glory!

Competition 2017 About the competition Prizes Rules and application Repertoire

Competition 2017

Preliminary rounds are played 26-27 September 2017. Semi final 28 September, finale 30 September 2017.

Read about the 2017 jury here.

Read about the 2017 competing quartets here.

Read about the prequalified quartets here.

About the competition

...Content is under development...



1st Prize: € 15.000
- and engagement at festivals in 2018
2nd prize: € 10.000
3rd prize: € 5.000

Audience Prize: Engagement at Trondheim Chamber Music Festival, September 2018.

Rules and application

1. 9th Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition is open to string quartets.

2. Applications will be accepted from musicians of all nationalities provided the combined maximum age of the quartet members as of 25th September 2017 does not exceed 120 years. The age limit for each musician of the quartet must be under 35 and over 16 years on 25 September 2017.

3. Musicians may only enter the competition as a member of one ensemble.

4. Musicians are responsible for all travel expenses. The competition will offer free lodging at our festival hotel. Each ensemble will be offered two 2-bed rooms, including breakfast. The competition will also provide one hot meal a day.

5. The application must be sent no later than the day of the deadline; 20 April 2017.

6. The following documents must be attached the application:
a. A copy of birth certificate or similar official document confirming the date and place of birth of each candidate.
b. Curriculum vitae with particulars of training, awards and diplomas and recent concert appearances of the quartet.
c. Two recent professional references.
d. Two recent digital high-resolution photographs of the quartet.
e. A recent audio recording of high quality in uncompressed audio formats, such as (WAV or AIFF), or in formats with lossless compression, such as FLAC or ALAC (.m4a), minimum Bitrate 256kbps, of the ensemble. This should be:

  • 1st movement from Mozart K387, K421, K458, K428, K464, K465, K499, K575, K589 or K590.
  • One movement of any Bartók, Berg, Britten, Debussy, Janácek, Ravel or Shostakovich quartet.

The recording should be recorded in one "take" and must not be edited or altered in any way. TICC reserves the right to disqualify applicants entering studio enhanced or modified tapes. Applicants are anonymous to the jury when considered for TICC.
f. A letter from a teacher or professional musician certifying the authenticity of the recording.

7. There will be a non-refundable entry fee of EUR 160 per quartet which should not be sent until the application has been accepted.

8. The competition is divided into three stages – two eliminating stages and a final stage. All stages will be open to the public.

9. Each quartet will be required to prepare six works, as indicated in the repertoire list.

10. Depending on the number of ensembles, the duration of the first round might be cut to thirty minutes per ensemble. The jury will announce their selected program 24 hours in advance.

11. The order of playing will be decided by ballot. A new ballot will be held for each new stage of the competition.

12. Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition is entitled to broadcast the concerts, in any medium, in whole or in part, live or by recording, in sound and/or in images. No payment will be made to contestants for the recording or broadcasting of competition performances.

13. Rehearsal facilities, including the provision of music stands, will be available to all ensembles in Trondheim accepted to the Competition. TICC does not warrant, however, that such facilities will be adequate or meet the requirements of ensembles.

14. The competition reserves the right not to award 1st prize if the jury cannot find a candidate.

15. Winners of the 1st Prize and the Audience Prize must agree to perform a certain number of concerts in 2018, arranged for them by Trondheim Chamber Music Competition and Trondheim Chamber Music Festival.

16. The official language of TICC is English.



Stage I, two works:

1) Choose one of the following quartets:
Mozart: K387, K421, K458, K428, K464, K465, K499, K575, K589, K590
Haydn: op 20, op. 33 except no. 4, op 54, op. 55, op. 64, op. 76, op. 77
Beethoven: op. 18 # 1 – 6


2) Choose one quartet by:
Bartók, Berg, Britten, Debussy, Janácek, Ravel or Shostakovich

Stage II, two works:

3) Compulsory work:
Lars Petter Hagen: Commissioned quartet

New work of about 10 minutes commissioned specially by the competition from a Norwegian composer. Arrangements will be made for all contestants to receive a score and parts for this work approximately two months in advance of the competition.


4) Choose one quartet by:
Brahms, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Grieg String Quartet No 1 in g-minor op 27, Tchaikovsky String Quartet No 1 in D- Major op 11.

Finale, two works:

5) Choose one quartet of Haydn’s Op 71 or 74


6) Choose one of the following quartets:
Schubert: D Minor (D810), A Minor (D804) Op. 29/1, G Major (D887) Op. 161
Beethoven: All except Op. 18.
Each ensemble must therefore prepare six works.

For application repertoire, see Rules, paragraph 6 e.